Leaupepe Rachel Karalus

CELF Alumni Leader of the Year 2020

On Friday 20 November at CELF Class of 2020 graduation Raewyn Jones,  CEO of WEL Energy Trust, announced the inaugural CELF Alumni Leader of the Year 2020 as Leaupepe Rachel Karalus - CEO K’aute Pasifika.

Rachel, could not be with us to accept the award personally, however we managed to get her response prior to her departure for Queenstown to run a half marathon.

Raewyn said "In my role as Chief Executive of WEL Energy Trust I am in the very privileged position of observing leadership daily.  It strikes me that true leadership rarely has the title ‘chief’ of anything.   This year has been remarkable in so many ways, but not least in the outstanding examples of community leadership we have seen.

It is timely then, that in this unprecedented year, with so many unprecedented events, for the very first time, CELF will recognise a CELF alumni for outstanding community leadership."

In assessing this award, CELF recognises that Leadership may be demonstrated in a variety of ways, for example through impact, or as an agent for change and in both formal and informal roles, including appointed, elected, or volunteer positions within one’s own organisation or in others. 

Nominees were expected to be at a level with broad reach across the community and exemplifying the mission and values of CELF.

On the night Lale Iremea accepted the award on Rachel's behalf and discussed why Rachel was so deserving of this award.  Lale acknowledged all nominees and their Leadership contributions to the region.  

The nominees were nominated by their peers.  Each nominee an outstanding leader.
Sean Lambly  - Prolife Foods
Rachel Karalus - Kaute Pasifika
Shane Keesom - Gallagher
Leonard Gardener - Fosters
Jenny Nand - DIA
Pat Peoples - Schick Civil Construction
Andrew McKenzie 
Kingsley Fink - Tristram Marine


This product has been added to your cart